Propolis and Lemon Sour Throat Spray

 

 

Difficulty level: low

Time to prepare: 5 minutes

Waiting time: none

Since I started a highly nutritious low-carb Paleo diet with no inflammatory foods like grains, vegetable oils and sugar, I rarely get a flu. However, when my partner came back from London with one, I too ended up getting the bug from him.

We both had sore throats. As in the past, when I had a sore throat, it was so bad I could hardly swallow anything for one or two days, I put my recently accumulated knowledge to work for finding a quick remedy for the feared oncoming throat disaster.

The first thing that came to my mind was: propolis! I had a bottle of propolis tincture as a gift from a dear friend, plus a few other plant tinctures I made in the last year waiting to be put to good use, and I think I came with a formula that … works!

Propolis is the most powerful antioxidant that exists; it is known for its protective effects on the health of your throat and mouth. It is also  excellent for supporting the immune system.

Propolis acts as an antibiotic, coating the throat and attacking any infections that might be present.  At the same time, because it also has anti-inflammatory properties, propolis helps to reduce the throat swelling.

Well, I can only report that the spray I came up with did the trick both for me and for my partner. It has a soothing effect immediately after application, and it has stopped the throat infection getting worse, for both of us. After two days of using it, we are indeed both coughing – that seems to be the progression of this flu – but we have no more throat swelling.

You have to make sure, though, that you are not allergic to propolis! I know at least one person who is. So if you’ve never had propolis before, apply a drop on your forearm and monitor any reactions (swelling, itching) for a few hours.

Use as often as necessary by spraying it on the back of your throat. You can also use it as a throat gargle by dissolving 1-2 pumps of it in a tablespoon of warm water.

2016-02-29 at 15-24-54 (1).jpg

This will make about 25 ml of syrup:

1 tsp cinnamon tincture *

1 tsp lemon tincture

1 tsp mint tincture

1 tsp honey

1/2 tsp glycerin

1/8 tsp xanthan gum

25 drops of 30% propolis tincture

5 drops lemon essential oil

1 drop sage OR thyme essential oil

1 drop cinnamon OR ginger essential oil

1 drop mint, eucalyptus OR myrrh essential oil

*  If  you do not have tinctures, you can use some alcohol instead (vodka, whiskey, etc.), or, even better, some digestive bitter.

Add the tinctures and the honey to a small container.

Gently warm up the mixture and stir with a small whisk till the honey dissolves.

Add the glycerin, then the xanthan gum, and continue to mix with the whisk.

Add the propolis tincture and the essential oils, mix till well incorporated.

Decant in a spray bottle.

Spray 2-3 pumps on the back of the sore throat whenever needed.

Dissolve 1-2 pumps in a tablespoon of warm water for a throat gargle.

Leave a comment